# Minutes of the November 2012 Faculty Council Meeting Tuesday, November 6, 2012, 5 PM Hugh Hill Conference Room

### Officers Present:

President – David Quillen
Past President – Marilyn Dumont-Driscoll
Secretary – Jean Cibula

Vice President – Kevin Brown President Elect – Nancy Hardt Treasurer – Frank Bova

### Officers Absent:

None

### **Department Representatives Present:**

Maria Zajac-Kaye – Anatomy
Sue McGorray – Biostatistics
Robyn Hoelle – Emergency Medicine
Kelli Komro – HOP
Gregory Murad – Neurological Surgery
Susan Semple-Rowland – Neuroscience
Kevin Raisch – Otolaryngology
Marguerite Hatch – Pathology
Brian Law – Pharmacology
Saleem Islam – Surgery

Kevin Brown – Biochemistry & Molecular George Samraj – CHFM Volker Mai - Epidemiology James Resnick – MGM Diego Rincon Limas – Neurology Sanford Boye – Ophthalmology Robert Bobilin – PA Program Carolyn Carter – Pediatrics Peter Sayeski – Physiology Vincent Bird – Urology

#### Absent:

Steve Anton – Aging John Hiemenz – Medicine Robert Matthias – Orthopaedics Judith Lightsey – Radiation Oncology Nicole Dobija - Anesthesiology Emily Weber LeBrun - OBGYN James Byrd - Psychiatry Scott Peterson - Radiology

### Invited guests:

Michael Good, M.D., Dean, College of Medicine\*\*

Joe Fantone, M.D., Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs\*\*

\*\* Both were unable to attend due to AAMC meeting – will be rescheduled for December meeting

- 1. President David Quillen called the meeting to order at approximately 5:00PM; the October minutes were approved.
- 2. Announcement, Reports, and Old Business
  - a. Various Faculty Council processes will now be handled through the Policy Boards
  - b. Faculty Senate Election Results

### 3-Year Terms (2015)

- Daniel Hoh
- Roberto Zori
- John Hiemenz
- Dietmar Siemann
- Peter Saveski
- Martha Brown

## 2-Year Terms (2014)

- Scott Meyers
- Bryon Peterson

There were 18 nominations for 8 positions, with each winning candidate receiving over 50 votes each. Overall, a very successful election process, but the COM will need to ensure sufficient clinical faculty participation to provide representation reflective of the COM faculty. Time constraint issues for clinical faculty could present some potential issues. If the Dean suggests to Dept Chairs to give Service credit for attendance, this could alleviate some concerns.

Next Election – April 2013 (7 Open Seats for Election)

c. FEO Fall 2012 Cycle

\$500K split over two cycles (during one year, i.e. Fall & Spring), compared to \$2M in previous years. Approximately \$250K was allocated to the fall cycle. To date:

- 69 Applications, 54 Approved by COM, and 41.5 Funded (Fall 2008 Spring 2012)
- Mean Award \$35,500
- Median Award \$23,100
- d. COM Clinical Benefits New Long-Term Disability Policy
  - New carrier selected
  - More comprehensive coverage
  - Will save COM \$500K annually
  - Janis Smith (jpsmith@ufl.edu) in the COM Benefits office can be contacted for more info
- e. Chair Evaluations Frank Bova, Ph.D.

A template was created and then distributed by HR via an electronic mechanism to the Executive Committee for testing purposes and can be accessed by logging in with UF Gatorlink. Jodi Gentry in HR has been consulted. She said that the evaluation will be incorporated into the HR platform and it can be dispersed in a variety of methods. The testing process was successful; therefore, the survey will now be rolled out to the entire COM faculty. An informational letter will be drafted to accompany the survey to explain the purpose and usefulness of the survey.

The letter will go out from the President of FC to all faculty members. HR will then administer the evaluation, score the results, and collate all of the information. All chairs will participate in this initial round. The survey will be sent within the next week and should take 10 minutes (or less) to complete. Results will be anonymous and will be administered by HR, not COM. Results will only be shared to the Dean and to the respective Dept Chair. Dr. Bova will aggregate data.

- 3. FC policy boards individually met at the conclusion of the FC meeting to determine chairs.
- 4. The meeting was adjourned at 5:40PM

The next Faculty Council meeting will be held Tuesday, December 4, 2012 @ 5PM in the Hugh Hill Conference Room

Minutes recorded by Brian Berryman, Coordinator and edited by Dr. Jean Cibula